Why High School changes everything…

As soon as you step into High School, I swear to God, your life changes forever. Sometimes, those changes are good and sometimes they are bad. My Freshman year or Grade 9 is going to end in about 4 months and I can definitely tell you a thing or two that I have learned about High School.

First of all, a lot of people may change. The changes can vary from personality to the way they look or the way they act. You may drift apart from your best friend and end up becoming friends with someone you used to hate. Trust me on this one, it has happened to me. I used to have a huge friend circle back in elementary school but things and situations changed and now I don’t talk to any of them. My relationship with my old friends wasn’t a healthy one and there was too much negativity for us to stick together. And to be completely honest, I think we all are better off without each other. Now I have three wonderful idiots who are there to support me and keep me happy so maybe in a way it may not be such a bad thing and you might meet new people who will actually be there for you.

The second thing is that popularity will become a huge thing. There’s always going to be one girl and one guy everyone is envious of because of the popularity that they own. Everybody knows them even seniors, they are filthy rich and fascinatingly beautiful. Sometimes even I wonder what it would be like to have that kind of popularity. But what will this popularity do for you once you leave High School? Are the people you call your friends really your friends or all they want is your popularity? Will all this matter when a long time will have passed? I don’t think it will. So enjoy while you’re in school and stop stressing about popularity. It’s not going to matter so take care of the things that will.

Third is the fact that things are going to be tough. Be it academics or extra curriculars, it’s not going to be easy and you have to work hard if you want good grades. Sometimes the work load is so much I wish I could be 4 again but you have to deal with it. I guess as time goes by, you kind of get used to it but in the beginning, it is going to be terrifying. On my first day, the teachers had petrified me so much that I was whining to back to middle school. But things got back to normal after that. So don’t stress a lot and set your priorities.

Lastly, it is a whole new experience. I have my own combination of good days and bad days but in all, I think it’s pretty cool. It really depends on how you want to spend your time in High School. With a little bit of courage and optimism along with a fantastic squad, you’re good to go. And you never know what High School might bring your way.

Bailey.

 

Leave a Reply

